Welcome guest, please Login or Register

1099 Employess Eligibile for PSLF program

Total Posts: 1

Joined 2015-12-27

PM

Dear Heather,

I have approximately $170K in student loan debt that I have been dragging around with me for about 25 years (since I graduated from law school).  All loans are public (Stafford, etc) and none were cosigned by my parents.  I consolidated once in the past and then went back to school for a Masters in Counseling.  I figure that the only way I will ever get this monkey off my back is to do the Public Service Loan Forgiveness program.  I believe that on Monday, I will be offered a job with a private, non-profit, tax-exempt under 501(c)(3). 

The agency is described as a “A PRIVATE, NONPROFIT MENTAL HEALTH ORGANIZATION THAT SERVES CHILDREN, ADOLESCENTS, ADULTS AND FAMILIES IN XXX COUNTY.  ITS MISSION IS TO PROVIDE HIGH QUALITY MENTAL HEALTH SERVICES FOR CHILDREN AND ADULTS AND THEIR FAMILIES AND TO ENGAGE IN COMMUNITY ACTIVITIES THAT PROMOTE MENTAL HEALTH-RELATED GOALS.  XXX HAS A CORE COMMITMENT TO PREVENTION AND EARLY INTERVENTION.  THE XXX OFFICE PROVIDES MENTAL HEALTH COUNSELING TO CLIENTS WHO HAVE PRIVATE INSURANCE, PUBLIC INSURANCE (MEDICAID AND MEDICARE), OR NO INSURANCE AT ALL. UNINSURED CLIENTS PAY ON A SLIDING FEE SCALE BASED ON INCOME IN 2013, THE AGENCY PROVIDED OFFICE-BASED MENTAL HEALTH THERAPY TO OVER 500 CHILDREN, ADULTS AND SENIORS ASPIRE ALSO HAS AN “OFFICE WITHOUT WALLS” - COMMUNITY-BASED PROGRAMS THAT SERVE VULNERABLE CLIENTS OUTSIDE THE MAINSTREAM OF MENTAL HEALTH CARE. IN 2013, COMMUNITY PROGRAMS SERVED OVER 500 MORE CHILDREN, ADULTS AND SENIORS.”