Welcome guest, please Login or Register

What should I do? 

Rank

Total Posts: 3

Joined 2016-02-22

PM

I am new to this forum so forgive me if my post comes off as nonsense.

Here is the deal: I am an attorney (proud of this actually and doing great immigration related work in private practice). Combined with undergrad and law school, I have 250K of student loan debt (no private loans - only government) and currently on IBR administered by Great Lakes. I have no excuses for my debt. I own it. I maxed out on the loans I could take out not only to pay for my living expenses, to do additional study abroad while in undergrad and law school and to generally help my parents when they needed cash. I have no interest in handouts, I am trying to stay calm and just pick the best strategy on how to pay these loans off. Here are details I what I owe and then I will end with my specific questions:

1. I owe 24K in Stafford loans at 6.55% interest rate

2. 54K in graduate plus loans at 8.25% interest rate. Note: I am 8K “paid ahead” as I have been trying to quickly pay off a 13K disbursement within this 54K loan since this 54K is the one with the highest interest rate.

3. 110K on a graduate plus loan at 7.65% interest rate.

4. 62K in a Stafford loan at 6.55% interest rate.

So here are my questions:

1. My current strategy has been to “attack” my 54K loan since it has the highest interest rate. The problem with this strategy is that while I have recently made a good attempt at doing this, the principal on the other loans are increasing due to interest. Do you think this is a good strategy what I am doing?