Welcome guest, please Login or Register

FFEL Consolidation Loans

Total Posts: 1

Joined 2016-08-02

PM

I consolidated my undergraduate loans into an FFEL Consolidation loan, disbursed in October 2007, owned by Nelnet. After that, I graduated, worked three years at a nonprofit, only to discover the payments I made during those years weren’t eligible for PSLF because I was paying on an FFEL loan, not a direct federal loan. I’ve also learned that that loan isn’t eligible for the new PAYE plan.

Since then, I’ve been in grad school, and now I have multiple direct federal loans from that, as well as my undergraduate debt hanging out there in the FFEL consolidation loan. I work in the arts and am planning to take advantage of PSLF, as well as PAYE (or REPAYE - I’m not entirely clear on the difference).

From what I’ve researched, my best option is to consolidate all my federal loans from grad school and my FFEL Consolidation loan from undergrad into a direct consolidation loan, and that the entire balance would be eligible for PAYE and PSLF. I also confirmed this with a customer service representative from the Dept of Ed.

I just finished grad school and have not yet made any payments on those loans, nor have I made any payments on the FFEL consolidation loan since starting grad school, so I don’t need to worry about losing “credit” for payments that would have counted toward PSLF.

But all this stuff seems so easy to screw up - can you confirm that this is correct, and are there any details or loopholes I need to worry about?

Rank
Rank
Rank

Total Posts: 154

Joined 2015-01-08

PM