Welcome guest, please Login or Register

More info on public education forgiveness

Rank

Total Posts: 2

Joined 2013-01-07

PM

Hi Heather,

I was hoping you could clarify something for me when it comes to the public service loan forgiveness program.  I am a teacher who just graduated in summer of 2012 and I’m currently working in Chicago Public Schools as a cadre substitute teacher (I essentially work as a full time in-school sub).  I work a regular teacher’s hours M-F and the work is guaranteed.  When I asked the direct loans folks if this would count towards my PSLF starting this year, I was told that it would not because I am not officially a permanent full time teacher.  However, in my eyes this doesn’t make much sense since I am working full time and I’m still getting paid by the Chicago Board of Ed.  Have you heard of this type of situation before?  Any ideas how this type of position might fit into the PSLF?  Your help is greatly appreciated. 

_Mike

Rank
Rank
Rank

Total Posts: 604

Joined 2011-03-30

PM

Hi, Mike.  The question rides on your employment status.  I’m guessing you might be a self-employed contractor, the school system sends you a 1099 to show what they paid you (NOT a W-2), and you file a tax return?  If you are self-employed, your employment doesn’t qualify even though in my opinion it should.  The regulations are specific that government contractors do not count as government employees.  Possible next steps for you might include educating the school system about how you and the other subs are harmed by this employment arrangement.

Sorry, Mike!

Rank

Total Posts: 2

Joined 2013-01-07

PM

Hey Heather, thanks for the reply.  I actually received a W-2 so would that indicate I might be good to go?  I’m not paid as an independent contractor but rather as a cadre substitute.

Total Posts: 1

Joined 2013-01-31

PM