Welcome guest, please Login or Register

Student Loan Attorney or Adviser Referral

Poll: Has anyone sucessfully used a financial adviser or attorney to assist with private student loan debt?
Total Votes: 1
Yes
No
I’m also looking for assistance
Rank

Total Posts: 3

Joined 2016-04-09

PM

Hi,

I am having trouble paying my student loans. I have both private and federal loans that equal about $280,000. I graduated from law school in 2007. I work for a community college, so I qualify for PSLF. I am currently in repayment under IBR and PSLF. I have about eight years left. However, I would like to get married, buy a home, have children, save for retirement, and I have high medical bills. Based on my loan payments, I cannot do any of those.
I have no other debt, as I filed for bankruptcy (Chapter 7) in 2013. However, the attorney I hired did not have a lot of experience in student loan debt discharge. I made the mistake of using a lot of my student loan funds to pay off credit card bills, travel, and pay for housing and living expenses. In addition, I had a lot of trouble finding a job right out of law school, so I have used up all my deferment and forbearance time. This also caused my loan debt to skyrocket.

Do you have or know of some type of referral system where I can find a legitimate financial adviser and/or attorney in my state (Florida) who can assist me with information on changing my IBR plan, the benefits or detriments if I get married, and whether or not I can reopen my bankruptcy to try and discharge loans that were not used for educational purposes? Or really, to provide me with any type of one-on-one advise?

Thanks.

Rank
Rank

Total Posts: 6

Joined 2016-04-12

PM