Welcome guest, please Login or Register

PSLF safety given current political environment.

Rank

Total Posts: 2

Joined 2012-06-01

PM

I graduated law school 5 years ago with 100,000 in debt. I have been working at a not for profit organization and making payments under an IBR plan. My payments are reasonable and do not cover the growing interest. I have been comfortable with this because of the promise of forgiveness. Given the Trump election and Republican control over Congress, how would you guys handle your debt going forward? In theory I could start paying more (my wife and I file separately) or just start making side payments to hedge against the program going away and not being grandfathered in.

Rank

Total Posts: 3

Joined 2015-02-19

PM

Yeah I have a similar worry now. This recent-ish speech gives some hope. But honestly, who knows.

http://time.com/money/4531134/donald-trump-student-loan-proposal/

Rank
Rank

Total Posts: 9

Joined 2016-10-13

PM

oldschoolways - 09 November 2016 02:22 PM

Yeah I have a similar worry now. This recent-ish speech gives some hope. But honestly, who knows.

http://time.com/money/4531134/donald-trump-student-loan-proposal/