Welcome guest, please Login or Register

Effect of Consolidation

Total Posts: 1

Joined 2017-08-01

PM

I am in the process of considering whether or not to consolidate my FFELP loans (6 in total).  I also have 3 Direct Loans.  Can you advise what the pros and cons of doing so would be?  My main concern would be that the loan forgiveness ‘clock’ would start over.  I’ve been paying on the loans for four years and I would hate to lose those four years.  I also understand that I would be able to qualify for different repayment plans which would lower my total payment. 

Thank you!

Rank
Rank
Rank

Total Posts: 154

Joined 2015-01-08

PM

I don’t fully understand…. are you consolidating to get your ffel loans to count? If so, it’s simple. Consolidate those loans only, and leave the direct loans out of it.

Rank
Rank

Total Posts: 15

Joined 2015-02-16

PM

I really, really regret consolidating my loans. My plan was to consolidate and eliminate the 6 month grace period for public service forgiveness. Now with IBR, the consolidated loans have $15,000 in outstanding interest. Today I have a little money (key word is little). If I had not consolidated, I could just smack down a little cash to the lowest loan knocking out some principle until one by one they disappear. But since I consolidated, all I do is pay interest. Not a single penny goes towards principle. It is a horrible cycle that keeps me in debt. I am almost guaranteed to have a large balance when I get forgiven in 20 years. That means a LARGE bill from the IRS and my state.

Hart: I believe she is saying she wants to consolidate all her loans so that she could sign up for PAYE or REPAYE. She cannot sign up unless her FFELP are consolidated with her Direct Loans according to the student loan site. Right now, she is only eligible for IBR without consolidation.

Rank
Rank
Rank

Total Posts: 154

Joined 2015-01-08

PM