Welcome guest, please Login or Register

Unique situation—-please help.

Total Posts: 1

Joined 2015-02-23

PM

Hello—I’ll keep my story/situation as brief as possible. I obtained 4x private student loans of roughly $30,000 a piece for school. Three of these were co-signed by my parents, one was co-signed by my older brother. The reason being that for some inexplicable reason the representative at the originator refused to let me parents co-sign my junior year loan. Anyhow, I graduated and like many others, realized I grossly over-borrowed from a predatory lender for an underpaying degree. I also quickly realized I had extremely little recourse despite the extraordinary circumstances I was facing. I deferred for as long as possible and was finally contacted by AES to start making payments when any deferral options had finally expired. They were asking for roughly 75% if my net income at the time, needless to say I was unable to meet the obligation. I filed for Chapter 13 protection and was given a 5 year judgement where I was still forced to pay roughly 30% of my net income as part of the case. I’ts important to note that my loan(s) never officially went into default before the filing. Now—-that 5 years is nearly up several months from now and this brings me to the crux of the issue. For reasons I won’t go into, it’s absolutely imperative that I absolve my brother from this loan entirely. There are various ways to do so but ideally I would like to settle his loan in as favorable of terms as possible with as minimal/zero negative effect to his credit rating as possible. Here are the several ways I can approach this situation once the loan comes out of Chapter 13 protection and is therefore able to be collected on.