Welcome guest, please Login or Register

How to Settle a DEFAULTED Private Student Loan

Total Posts: 1

Joined 2015-03-09

PM

The situation:
I took out a private student loan from Wells Fargo several years ago with an interest rate of 12%. Once I graduated I had trouble affording to pay it back, partly because of the insane interest rate, and so eventually I defaulted on the loan, which I thought wasn’t half bad since I was told that actually stops interest from continuing to accrue (though I understand this has a very negative effect on my credit). Shortly after defaulting Wells Fargo threatened that they would file a law suit if I didn’t settle or otherwise make a payment arrangement, and so I agreed to an arrangement since I didn’t have cash for a lump sum settlement. The payment arrangement I agreed to was to pay nearly $1K/month over three years (the loan had ballooned to about $33K from the original $20K due to interest before I finally defaulted).

I had made payments on the arrangement for little over half a year when I got a law suit from Wells Fargo for an old credit card that I had stopped making payments on several years prior (after getting laid off from a job), and soon after started to get my wages garnished (25% of my income on wage garnishments). Around the same time I also had a medical emergency and was hospitalized (and got stuck paying several thousands of dollars in medical bills that my health insurance company refused to pay for). As a result I stopped making payments per the arrangement I had made with Wells Fargo for my private student loan.