Welcome guest, please Login or Register

can part-time work for my own not-for-profit (not a 501c3) qualify me for PSLF? (combined w/work for a 501c3)

Total Posts: 1

Joined 2015-12-27

PM

I graduated in May 2014 and in June began working 30 hours per week at a 501c3 nonprofit. When I submitted paperwork to register for PSLF. I received notice back verifying that the nonprofit indeed qualifies for PSLF, but that I do not because I’m considered a part-time employee. I called FLS to clarify and they explained that if my employer had check the “full-time” box, it would have counted, but because they checked “part-time,” it doesn’t count. This was frustrating to hear because, in terms of hours per week, I’m doing the hours listed as required for PSLF! Grrr!

Okay, done venting, now here’s my question…